Skip to main content

Back to issues

September 9, 2022, World Tribune

Start reading

In this issue


Q: As time passes and my contemporaries and loved ones pass away, I feel the weight of my own mortality. How can I live with hope and purpose?

A: When we study Buddhism, we find that Shakyamuni’s teachings begin with conquering the four sufferings of birth, aging, sickness and death. Rather than seeking to evade suffering, which is impossible, Shakyamuni pioneered the means to overcome it through practicing Buddhism. In life, we encounter many forms of hardship, but the four sufferings list what