Skip to main content

Frontline News

Statement by SGI-USA National Leaders on Recent Events

For the past few days we have been trying to process what we’ve felt upon hearing the news of George Floyd’s death. George Floyd was a son, a family member and a friend. Our condolences are with Mr. Floyd’s family and community as they deal with this tragic loss.

This man should not have died. We are saddened and outraged by the blatant disregard for human life, and we are also reminded of the great mission we have to transform the deeply-rooted racism in America and the disrespect for life that is so prevalent today. We strongly object to the needless and tragic loss of life due to violence at the hands of anyone. Based on the awareness of the interconnectedness of all life, we recognize that our “own happiness can never be built on the misfortune of others.”

We, of the SGI-USA, wholeheartedly and unswervingly believe in the equality and dignity of all people and that every person deserves to be treated fairly and without discrimination.

Sensei states, “There is no other solution to the problem of racial discrimination than realizing the human revolution in each individual.  In other words, an inner reformation in the depths of people’s lives to transform the egoism that justifies the subjugation of others and replace it with a humanism that strives for coexistence among all peoples.”

From this moment forward, let’s advance with the spirit of Buddhist humanism and together:

  • Reaffirm our commitment to actualize our mentor’s guidance;
  • Resolve to be a powerful source of the hope that’s needed more than ever in our families, friendships, and communities, based on the strategy of the Lotus Sutra; and
  • Pray for the health, safety and protection of all of our treasured friends.

Every single one of us, without exception, can and must be the protagonist to enable America to become a society of beauty and unity, dedicated to peace and justice based on Sensei’s guidance. 

Adin Strauss
General Director

Naoko Leslie
Women’s Leader

Kevin Moncrief
Men’s Leader

Olivia Saito
Youth Leader

Ryo Kuroki
Young Men’s Leader

Maya Gunaseharan
Young Women’s Leader

Read more