Skip to main content

News

Attention All Student Division Members and Guests!

Morsa Images / Getty Images.

“With all the global conflict and crises, there couldn’t be a more crucial time to reaffirm the purpose of our movement. We need a valid, life-affirming philosophy in order to transform the reality of society,” said Peter Karuppiah, SGI-USA’s student division young men’s leader. 

It is in this spirit that the SGI-USA student division will hold its first virtual study lecture of the year on April 16 (12 p.m. PT/2 p.m. CT/3 p.m. ET), open to all student division members and guests ages 18–25 who are enrolled in a post-secondary education program. Themed “Establishing Peace in the Heart of Each Person,” the lecture will cover Ikeda Sensei’s lecture on Nichiren Daishonin’s treatise “On Establishing the Correct Teaching for the Peace of the Land,” which can be found in the January 2016 Living Buddhism.  

Olivia Cassetta, SGI-USA’s student division young women’s leader, conveyed the significance of the study material: “Just as Sensei did when he lectured on this treatise in July 1961, we want to reaffirm our mission to rid the world of misery and awaken to our responsibility as SGI members to create a peaceful society. We want to share Sensei’s heart with as many student division members and guests as possible and ‘bring order and tranquillity to the world without further delay’ (“On Establishing the Correct Teaching,” The Writings of Nichiren Daishonin, vol. 1, p. 22).”

To find out more information and RSVP for the event, please contact your local leaders.

—Prepared by the World Tribune staff

Episode #59: Buddhism and the Startup Journey

What is the significance of the name ‘Many Treasures Group’?