Around the SGI-USA

Study for the Sake of Others

2021 Fall Semester Student Division Study Lecture

Sincerely Media / Unsplash


For what purpose do we receive an education? Ikeda Sensei states in volume 15 of The New Human Revolution: “Academic study and achievements are not merely to be tools for personal advancement. They should be used in the pursuit of happiness for others, and university study should be devoted to serving and contributing to the lives of those who could not pursue advanced learning themselves” (p. 99).

It is with this spirit that SGI-USA student division members will gather on Sept. 26 (1 p.m. PT/3 p.m. CT/4 p.m. ET) for their biannual student division lecture. Themed “Be Individuals of Wisdom and Intelligence Who Protect the People!” it will be open to high school seniors and students between the ages 18–25 who are enrolled in a post-secondary education program.

SGI-USA General Director Adin Strauss will present material from the “Jeweled Sword” chapter in volume 8 of The New Human Revolution. Students will receive reference material once they register for the conference, click here to access the registration link.